<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss version="2.0"
	xmlns:content="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/content/"
	xmlns:wfw="http://wellformedweb.org/CommentAPI/"
	xmlns:dc="http://purl.org/dc/elements/1.1/"
	xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom"
	xmlns:sy="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/syndication/"
	xmlns:slash="http://purl.org/rss/1.0/modules/slash/"
	>

<channel>
	<title>RileyPool.com &#187; Money Mondays</title>
	<atom:link href="http://rileypool.com/category/money-mondays/feed/" rel="self" type="application/rss+xml" />
	<link>http://rileypool.com</link>
	<description>Ain&#039;t no shame in my PPC game!</description>
	<lastBuildDate>Wed, 28 Jul 2010 22:45:19 +0000</lastBuildDate>
	<language>en</language>
	<sy:updatePeriod>hourly</sy:updatePeriod>
	<sy:updateFrequency>1</sy:updateFrequency>
	<generator>http://wordpress.org/?v=3.0</generator>
		<item>
		<title>$250 Worth of Media Buy Advice</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/250-worth-of-media-buy-advice-2/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/250-worth-of-media-buy-advice-2/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 28 Apr 2010 05:07:04 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Media Buys]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=735</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Here recently I finally took part in my first media buy and I ended up losing my $250 because of the mistakes I made.  I was all dreamy-eyed because it was my first media buy and it ended up costing me my entire investment because of it.  You live and you learn.  Thankfully, it wasn&#8217;t [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/free-macbook-air-from-profit-kings-media/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Free MacBook Air from Profit Kings Media'>Free MacBook Air from Profit Kings Media</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/ppc/wanna-dominate-a-micro-niche-on-facebook/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Wanna dominate a micro-niche on Facebook?'>Wanna dominate a micro-niche on Facebook?</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/another-1000-from-profit-kings-media/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Another $1,000 from Profit Kings Media!'>Another $1,000 from Profit Kings Media!</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Here recently I finally took part in my first media buy and I ended up losing my $250 because of the mistakes I made.  I was all dreamy-eyed because it was my first media buy and it ended up costing me my entire investment because of it.  You live and you learn.  Thankfully, it wasn&#8217;t an expensive buy and I will chalk it up as a $250 lesson learned in media buying.</p>
<p>I was wanting to promote a niche dating site and I thought I had found the perfect site to contact for a direct buy. After a few back and forths with the domain owner and we agreed on a flat fee of $250 for a 30-day long run of the site. I was going to share the banner inventory with another banner, so I would see half the site&#8217;s traffic. When I asked how much traffic his site received, he told me, &#8220;[Sitename].com gets around 3000 unique visitors per day.&#8221; and &#8220;The site gets around 300000-350000 impressions on average monthly.&#8221; After my 30 days was up, I ended up getting a total of 17,398 impressions, resulting in 86 clicks and 0 conversions. I have run this offer for well over a year now and the average conversion rate I see is 12-18%.</p>
<p>So here&#8217;s my $250 worth of media buying advice to anybody who is about to do their first buy.</p>
<ol>
<li>Check the demographics of the site you&#8217;re interested in buying banner inventory on.  Use <a href="http://www.quantcast.com" target="_blank">Quantcast</a>, <a href="http://www.compete.com/" target="_blank">Compete</a> or your favorite demographic website. Even these results will not be perfect. Your best bet is to ask for a media kit, if one is available.  Make sure the demographics match what works best for your offer.</li>
<li>Whenever you ask for the amount of traffic a site has, ALWAYS ask for proof of this.  Check the website&#8217;s source code, see if they&#8217;re using any type of analytics tool, such as Google Analytics.  Ask for a report of the last 30 days worth of traffic, at least.</li>
<li>When scouring the details of this traffic report you just asked for, see if you can determine where his traffic comes from. Is it type-in traffic or is it from organic search results?  If it&#8217;s a bunch of type-in traffic, you can probably bet that your target audience will develop banner blindness quicker.</li>
<li>While you&#8217;re still analyzing that report, check which countries this traffic is coming from.  You better make sure the traffic comes from a country that your offer allows!</li>
<li>Finally, do some math to find out how many conversions you will need to be profitable.  If it was a flat-fee per month, it&#8217;s easy to figureo out what it will take to be profitable.  If it&#8217;s a CPM buy, calculate how many conversions you will need per thousand impressions to be profitable.  Using data from other traffic sources, about how many clicks does that translate too?  Using that information, what CTR should you be expecting?  How do these figures relate to other traffic sources you&#8217;ve tested?  Does it seem realistic that you might be profitable?  I hope so!</li>
</ol>
<p>P.S. Yes I&#8217;m a fucking idiot for not doing proper research.  Thanks for noticing. =)</p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/free-macbook-air-from-profit-kings-media/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Free MacBook Air from Profit Kings Media'>Free MacBook Air from Profit Kings Media</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/ppc/wanna-dominate-a-micro-niche-on-facebook/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Wanna dominate a micro-niche on Facebook?'>Wanna dominate a micro-niche on Facebook?</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/another-1000-from-profit-kings-media/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Another $1,000 from Profit Kings Media!'>Another $1,000 from Profit Kings Media!</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/250-worth-of-media-buy-advice-2/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>16</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Mr. Green&#8217;s Plenty of Fish Ad Uploader ROCKS!</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/mr-greens-plenty-of-fish-ad-uploader-rocks/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/mr-greens-plenty-of-fish-ad-uploader-rocks/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Wed, 07 Apr 2010 13:25:26 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Plenty of Fish]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Recommendations]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=597</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[The real post is here. Related posts:Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish? Try this&#8230; Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/wanna-make-bank-on-plenty-of-fish-try-this/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;'>Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-cpm-bid-effects-preview/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-repost/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)'>Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>The real post is <a href="http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/wanna-make-bank-on-plenty-of-fish-try-this/">here</a>.</p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/wanna-make-bank-on-plenty-of-fish-try-this/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;'>Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-cpm-bid-effects-preview/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-repost/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)'>Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/mr-greens-plenty-of-fish-ad-uploader-rocks/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-cpm-bid-effects-preview/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-cpm-bid-effects-preview/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 05 Apr 2010 13:30:33 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Case Study]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Plenty of Fish]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=602</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I&#8217;ve noticed on Plenty of Fish that my impression numbers do not change much, regardless of whether I bid the minimum CPM or a much higher CPM.  So, I&#8217;ve decided to do a public case study on Plenty of Fish so we can all see if it matters and how much.  The only thing I [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth'>Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/case-study-using-pof-conversion-tracking-to-make-a-profitable-campaign-phase-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Case Study: Using POF Conversion Tracking to make a Profitable Campaign &#8211; Phase 1'>Case Study: Using POF Conversion Tracking to make a Profitable Campaign &#8211; Phase 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-repost/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)'>Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;ve noticed on Plenty of Fish that my impression numbers do not change much, regardless of whether I bid the minimum CPM or a much higher CPM.  So, I&#8217;ve decided to do a public case study on Plenty of Fish so we can all see if it matters and how much.  The only thing I will be split testing is my CPM bid.  I will bid 15c, 25c, 35c and 45c.</p>
<p>With <a href="http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/wanna-know-why-plenty-of-fish-gets-you-blacklisted/" target="_blank">some affiliates experiencing problems getting blacklisted</a> from offers they promote on Plenty of Fish, I&#8217;ve decided to promote a dating offer where the quality isn&#8217;t expected to be top notch in the first place.  With this in mind, I&#8217;ve picked the Singlesnet offer on <a href="http://rileypool.com/networks/pkm" style="" target="_blank"  onmouseover="self.status='http://rileypool.com/networks/pkm';return true;" onmouseout="self.status=''">Profit Kings Media</a> that accepts traffic from users that are 21 &#8211; 24 years of age.</p>
<p>I will only be using one ad copy.  The ad title will be: Single Available Women and the description will be:  There are 986 sexy, single women online in {state:default}. Sign up and meet them today!  The {state:default} will be replaced by the users state they registered in, so it will look more customized for them.</p>
<p>I will be targeting males in the United States that are 21 &#8211; 24 and are single, divorced, widowed or separated.</p>
<p>I&#8217;ve picked 6 random images from Justin Dupre&#8217;s image pack that he released on his blog.  The ones I&#8217;ve choosen are below.</p>

<div class="ngg-galleryoverview" id="ngg-gallery-16-602">


	<!-- Piclense link -->
	<div class="piclenselink">
		<a class="piclenselink" href="javascript:PicLensLite.start({feedUrl:'http://rileypool.com/wp-content/plugins/nextgen-gallery/xml/media-rss.php?gid=16&amp;mode=gallery'});">
			[View with PicLens]		</a>
	</div>
	
	<!-- Thumbnails -->
		
	<div id="ngg-image-199" class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail-box"  >
		<div class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail" >
			<a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/girl-235.png" title=" " class="shutterset_set_16" >
								<img title="girl-235" alt="girl-235" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/thumbs/thumbs_girl-235.png" width="100" height="75" />
							</a>
		</div>
	</div>
	
		
 		
	<div id="ngg-image-200" class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail-box"  >
		<div class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail" >
			<a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/girl-374.png" title=" " class="shutterset_set_16" >
								<img title="girl-374" alt="girl-374" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/thumbs/thumbs_girl-374.png" width="100" height="75" />
							</a>
		</div>
	</div>
	
		
 		
	<div id="ngg-image-201" class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail-box"  >
		<div class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail" >
			<a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/girl-507.png" title=" " class="shutterset_set_16" >
								<img title="girl-507" alt="girl-507" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/thumbs/thumbs_girl-507.png" width="96" height="75" />
							</a>
		</div>
	</div>
	
		
 		
	<div id="ngg-image-202" class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail-box"  >
		<div class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail" >
			<a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/girl-526.jpg" title=" " class="shutterset_set_16" >
								<img title="girl-526" alt="girl-526" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/thumbs/thumbs_girl-526.jpg" width="100" height="75" />
							</a>
		</div>
	</div>
	
		
 		
	<div id="ngg-image-203" class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail-box"  >
		<div class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail" >
			<a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/girl-584.png" title=" " class="shutterset_set_16" >
								<img title="girl-584" alt="girl-584" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/thumbs/thumbs_girl-584.png" width="100" height="75" />
							</a>
		</div>
	</div>
	
		
 		
	<div id="ngg-image-204" class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail-box"  >
		<div class="ngg-gallery-thumbnail" >
			<a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/girl-78.jpg" title=" " class="shutterset_set_16" >
								<img title="girl-78" alt="girl-78" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/pof-cpm-case-study/thumbs/thumbs_girl-78.jpg" width="98" height="75" />
							</a>
		</div>
	</div>
	
		
 	 	
	<!-- Pagination -->
 	<div class='ngg-clear'></div>
 	
</div>


<p>I will be automating the creation of these ads using <a href="http://rileypool.com/affs/mrgreen" style="" target="_blank"  onmouseover="self.status='http://rileypool.com/affs/mrgreen';return true;" onmouseout="self.status=''">Mr. Green</a>&#8216;s <a href="http://rileypool.com/recommends/pofuploaderkws" style="" target="_blank"  onmouseover="self.status='http://rileypool.com/recommends/pofuploaderkws';return true;" onmouseout="self.status=''">Plenty of Fish Ad Uploader</a>.  I suggest you buy a copy today!</p>
<p>I will report back next week on the numbers.</p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth'>Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/case-study-using-pof-conversion-tracking-to-make-a-profitable-campaign-phase-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Case Study: Using POF Conversion Tracking to make a Profitable Campaign &#8211; Phase 1'>Case Study: Using POF Conversion Tracking to make a Profitable Campaign &#8211; Phase 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-repost/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)'>Plenty of Fish Case Study: Session Depth (repost)</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-cpm-bid-effects-preview/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>11</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>How I made $7,144.00 using TrafficVance.</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/ppv/7144-00-case-study-using-trafficvance/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/ppv/7144-00-case-study-using-trafficvance/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 08 Mar 2010 15:30:16 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Case Study]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPV]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=302</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[Just so everybody knows, PPV isn&#8217;t the easiest thing in the world to master.  I recently read a thread on WickedFire that made me realize something.  If you bid on anything on TrafficVance your minimum bid is $10 CPM.  This is because the minimum bid is $0.01 x 1000 = $10. I also tested out [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/case-study/plenty-of-fish-case-study-%e2%80%93-cpm-bid-effects-%e2%80%93-results/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study – CPM Bid Effects – Results'>Plenty of Fish Case Study – CPM Bid Effects – Results</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>Just so everybody knows, PPV isn&#8217;t the easiest thing in the world to master.  I recently read a thread on <a href="http://rileypool.com/forums/wickedfire" style="" target="_blank"  onmouseover="self.status='http://rileypool.com/forums/wickedfire';return true;" onmouseout="self.status=''">WickedFire</a> that made me realize something.  If you bid on anything on TrafficVance your minimum bid is $10 CPM.  This is because the minimum bid is $0.01 x 1000 = $10.</p>
<p>I also tested out a number of campaigns and failed miserably and lost hundreds of dollars.  So if you&#8217;re worried about losign a few hundred testing, this is not something you should try.</p>
<p>What I&#8217;m giving away here was my first profitable campaign on PPV.  I&#8217;m going to let everybody know just how I did it.</p>
<p>First thing I did was sign up on <a href="http://www.trafficvance.com/" target="_blank">TrafficVance</a>.  When you first sign up you will need at least $1,000 to get started.  So if you&#8217;re not able to blow some money, don&#8217;t try out PPV.</p>
<p>Next, you will want to go and download <a href="http://www.mattharward.com/downloads/LaserURL_Setup.exe" target="_blank">Laser URL</a>.  If you don&#8217;t know how to use this program go here for <a href="http://www.mattharward.com/2008/05/12/laser-url-tutorial-videos-are-ready/" target="_blank">Laser URL Tutorial Videos</a>.  You will want to search a very closely related term to your offer using Laser URL.  I always let it search 10 pages deep on all three search engines.  This gives me a number of URL&#8217;s to prune and use for testing purposes.  Once you get these URLs, export them to a spreadsheet and then I suggest researching each URL to see if they even relate to your offer.  If they relate, it&#8217;ll be one of your targets.</p>
<p>I ran the Mobile IQ Quiz &#8211; QuizYou over at <a href="http://rileypool.com/networks/ewa" style="" target="_blank"  onmouseover="self.status='http://rileypool.com/networks/ewa';return true;" onmouseout="self.status=''">EWA</a>.  I used Laser URL to search for the term iq quiz.  I of course pruned my targets and threw the list into TrafficVance.</p>
<p>My first time through I made sure I was the highest bidder on all the URL&#8217;s I targetted because I wanted some good test data.  I let it run for a couple days and came back to optimize it.  Make sure you&#8217;re tracking where your traffic comes from using the %%$KEYWORD%% variable that TrafficVance uses.  This way you can see which targets are converting and what the EPC for that target is so you can adjust your bids according.</p>
<p>After some time I was able to drop all the low traffic and non-converting targets down to about 10 targets.  The only bad thing about this was that I had to monitor these things day and night because I would get into daily bidding wars on URL&#8217;s, especially my best converting URL.  This got tiresome, I finally just got fed up with it and was okay with being in the 3rd spot.  I noticed more and more competition coming in on my targets and I was eventually being out bid on all my target URL&#8217;s.  The headache to keep up with these bids eventually became so much that I quit running the offer because of the increased competition and higher bids led to a dismal ROI that was no longer worthy of my time.</p>
<p>I came back a couple months later and noticed all the bids were much lower than they once were so I turned the campaign on and let it run for a couple days.  For whatever reason the offer was no longer converting on these URL&#8217;s so I paused the offer and haven&#8217;t ran it since.</p>
<p>My gross revenue for this offer was $7,144.00 and my total spend for this campaign was $4,867.27.  That equates to a $2,277 profit and a 46.7% ROI.</p>
<p>P.S. &#8211; If you&#8217;re going to run a PPV campaign, I suggest that your Prosper202 install be on a dedicated server.  I always suggest <a href="http://rileypool.com/recommends/liquidweb" style="" target="_blank"  onmouseover="self.status='http://rileypool.com/recommends/liquidweb';return true;" onmouseout="self.status=''">LiquidWeb</a> for any server you may need.</p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/case-study/plenty-of-fish-case-study-%e2%80%93-cpm-bid-effects-%e2%80%93-results/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study – CPM Bid Effects – Results'>Plenty of Fish Case Study – CPM Bid Effects – Results</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/ppv/7144-00-case-study-using-trafficvance/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>18</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 22 Feb 2010 08:45:27 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Case Study]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=349</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This is a follow-up to Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1 and Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2. After having 2 sets of images have their CTR die out on me I got lazy and tested out another another ad copy and saw my conversions tank by 54% so I figure [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-2/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-results/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This is a follow-up to <a href="http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/">Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a> and <a href="http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-2/">Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2</a>.</p>
<p>After having 2 sets of images have their CTR die out on me I got lazy and tested out another another ad copy and saw my conversions tank by 54% so I figure the ad copy had to be misleading.   So I decided I wanted to try out 5 completely different sets of ad copy and see the difference between their conversion rates.  I tried to relate each ad title with the description.  I used the same images as my first go around so I know they can perform decently and since I haven&#8217;t ran them in awhile their CTR should at least be respectable now.</p>
<p>Here are the stats for the last 7 days according to Prosper.</p>
<ul>
<li>Ad Copy 1 (Original): 8280 Clicks, 438 Conversions, 5.29% Conversion Ratio</li>
<li>Ad Copy 2: 12612 Clicks, 498 Conversions, 3.95% Conversation Ratio</li>
<li>Ad Copy 3: 441 Clicks, 9 Conversions, 2.04% Conversion Ratio</li>
<li>Ad Copy 4: 323 Clicks, 10 Conversions, 3.1% Conversion Ratio</li>
<li>Ad Copy 5: 721 Clicks, 34 Conversions, 4.72% Conversion Ratio</li>
</ul>
<p>I found it pretty crazy that my original ad copy converted best for me after the split testing I did.</p>
<p>So here&#8217;s concrete proof that split testing makes a huge difference!  If you&#8217;ve never split tested your ad copy, <strong>DO IT NOW!</strong> I&#8217;ve never done much split testing of ad copy until I ran this campaign and have finally came to an amazing revelation, even though I should&#8217;ve known it.</p>
<p><em>On Facebook your CTR depends on the image you use in your ad copy.  Your conversion ratio depends on the text in your ad copy!  It is imperative to split test both!</em></p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-2/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-results/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-2/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-2/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 15 Feb 2010 08:23:28 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Case Study]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=344</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[This is a follow-up to Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1. Okay so the CTR began to die out on the images I found in Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1.  I was still making some pretty good money off this campaign and decided I needed to switch up the ad [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-results/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>This is a follow-up to <a href="http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/">Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a>.</p>
<p>Okay so the CTR began to die out on the images I found in <a href="http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/">Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a>.  I was still making some pretty good money off this campaign and decided I needed to switch up the ad copy.  Me being pretty lazy I went to the merchant&#8217;s landing page and used some of the lines that caught my attention in my ad copy and mind you since I was lazy I only used one variation and scaled this out to every demographic.  After about 5 days of continually submitting ads I finally got my ads past the review team at Facebook.  I just knew I was going to kill it again for a few days and wasn&#8217;t sure what I was going to do after that, probably try a different ad copy.</p>
<p>So I threw up this one ad copy using those images I used in the first go round.  I figure they haven&#8217;t been shown in a couple weeks, they should have some juice left in them.  Plus with some new ad copy I should be sitting pretty.</p>
<p>I ran it for a couple days and lost a nice chunk of change, mainly because my conversion ratio had tanked by 54%.  I&#8217;ve included screenshots below.  And that amount of data was more than enough to be statistically relevant.  My first concern was since I haven&#8217;t ran this offer in a few days maybe the advertiser was up to no good so I hit up my affiliate manager and asked him if the conversion rate for the network as a whole changed and he said nope.  So I was thinking since the only thing that had changed was the ad copy, maybe the ad copy was now a bit misleading because it did include that the user could win money.</p>
<p>Part 3 I will be split testing 5 different sets of ad copy to determine how it affects my conversion ratio.</p>
<p><img class="alignnone" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/split-test-ad-copy.jpg" alt="" width="989" height="31" /></p>
<p><img class="alignnone" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/02/split-test-ad-copy2.jpg" alt="" width="977" height="32" /></p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-session-depth-results/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; Session Depth &#8211; Results</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-2/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 08 Feb 2010 08:13:09 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[CPM]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Case Study]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=301</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[So here I was dominating this niche on Facebook so I scaled it out to different demographics and was doing great with this offer.  I was effing pumped and got kinda lazy for a few days and I knew my CTR would die out eventually.  I thought no problem, I&#8217;ll find some more images that [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-2/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-cpm-bid-effects-preview/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>So here I was dominating this niche on Facebook so I scaled it out to different demographics and was doing great with this offer.  I was effing pumped and got kinda lazy for a few days and I knew my CTR would die out eventually.  I thought no problem, I&#8217;ll find some more images that are similar to the ones I&#8217;m using now and just make a few more ads and keep banking on this offer.</p>
<p>I finally figured out something I could search for that would bring up similar images on Google image search and I found a couple I thought were going to kill it so I saved them.  I was talking to a friend about needing some more images and he told me to use Bing&#8217;s image search.  I checked it out and oh my god!  Bing&#8217;s image search is killer!  Try it out sometime if you haven&#8217;t already.</p>
<p>So I found 88 images I thought might work well and I used the same exact ad copy.  The only thing I did was change the picture.  I knew to be profitable in this particular demographic for this offer I would need a 0.10% CTR or higher with the amount I was bidding, so that&#8217;s what I was looking for.  If you&#8217;ll look at the screenshots below you&#8217;ll see I found a handful of keepers.</p>
<p>On the next part of this case study I&#8217;ll switch up the ad copy and see how well the ads perform.</p>
<p><a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/split-test-images1.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-358" title="split-test-images" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/split-test-images1-139x300.jpg" alt="" width="139" height="300" /></a> <a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/split-test-images21.jpg"><img class="aligncenter size-medium wp-image-359" title="split-test-images2" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/01/split-test-images21-181x300.jpg" alt="" width="181" height="300" /></a></p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-2/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 2</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/plenty-of-fish-case-study-cpm-bid-effects-preview/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview'>Plenty of Fish Case Study &#8211; CPM Bid Effects &#8211; Preview</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>6</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Wanna dominate a micro-niche on Facebook?</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/ppc/wanna-dominate-a-micro-niche-on-facebook/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/ppc/wanna-dominate-a-micro-niche-on-facebook/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Tue, 02 Feb 2010 00:30:24 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=209</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[I&#8217;m sure some will argue this, but I don&#8217;t really care what they have to say.  This is what I&#8217;ve learned from my experiences. Are you trying to attack a micro-niche?  Say a niche of less than 100,000 on Facebook?  You better have your best ad copy and images ready to go from the get [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/wanna-make-bank-on-plenty-of-fish-try-this/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;'>Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>I&#8217;m sure some will argue this, but I don&#8217;t really care what they have to say.  This is what I&#8217;ve learned from <strong>my</strong> experiences.</p>
<p>Are you trying to attack a micro-niche?  Say a niche of less than 100,000 on Facebook?  You better have your best ad copy and images ready to go from the get go.</p>
<p>With these small target demographics it&#8217;s a littler tougher to get started and get impressions.  Once you have some ads with an established CTR Facebook will favor those ads over new ads that are made.  Here&#8217;s proof.  I threw up some ads in a 75k demo that I was already banging out.  I wanted to test new ad copy because my CTR was dropping like a rock.  I had the same exact demographic using the same exact bid and these ads couldn&#8217;t even get 1 impression from Facebook because my other ads (and others I&#8217;m sure) were already sucking up all the impressions.  So I would have to bid higher and higher just to receive impressions at all.  Check out the image below for evidence of that.</p>

<a href="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/miscellaneous/small-demo.jpg" title="" class="shutterset_singlepic18" >
	<img class="ngg-singlepic ngg-center" src="http://rileypool.com/wp-content/gallery/cache/18__320x240_small-demo.jpg" alt="small-demo" title="small-demo" />
</a>

<p>If it&#8217;s a new vertical for you and you&#8217;re not sure what type of ad copy and/or image will work well I suggest trying out no more than 5 images and 5 sets of ad copy to split test.  Throw up those 25 ads, see which does well.  Then throw up another set of 25 ads to see which ad copy and images do well that time.  Then I would take your 4 best images and 4 best ad copies and this is when you turn up the traffic.</p>
<p>If you&#8217;re already in the vertical, such as dating and know which images are going to do well, just use a set of 10 or so images using an ad copy that is proven.  When the CTR on those images start dying pause those ads and bust out another 10 images that perform well using a different ad copy.  Just rinse and repeat this anytime your CTR starts to die out.  It works like a charm for me.</p>
<p>Have you experienced the same thing?  Let me know!</p>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-case-study-part-1/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 1</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/split-testing-on-facebook-case-study-part-3/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3'>Split Testing on Facebook Case Study: Part 3</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/wanna-make-bank-on-plenty-of-fish-try-this/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;'>Wanna Make BANK on Plenty of Fish?  Try this&#8230;</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/ppc/wanna-dominate-a-micro-niche-on-facebook/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
		</item>
		<item>
		<title>Giving away $200 in Facebook coupons!</title>
		<link>http://rileypool.com/ppc/giving-away-200-in-facebook-coupons/</link>
		<comments>http://rileypool.com/ppc/giving-away-200-in-facebook-coupons/#comments</comments>
		<pubDate>Mon, 25 Jan 2010 14:16:14 +0000</pubDate>
		<dc:creator>Riley Pool</dc:creator>
				<category><![CDATA[Affiliate Marketing]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Facebook]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[Money Mondays]]></category>
		<category><![CDATA[PPC]]></category>

		<guid isPermaLink="false">http://rileypool.com/?p=442</guid>
		<description><![CDATA[While I was wandering around the Meet Market at Affiliate Summit I ran into the Sam, Shawn, Nikki and Amy from Optimal Web Works.  We&#8217;ve been discussing ideas about how we tackle Facebook Ads for the past year now and decided it was best to talk to Facebook as a group.  Needless to say we [...]


Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/ppc/free-250-facebook-advertising/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Free $250 Facebook Advertising!'>Free $250 Facebook Advertising!</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/ppc/advertising-on-facebook/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Advertising on Facebook'>Advertising on Facebook</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/affiliate-tips-from-facebook/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Affiliate Tips from Facebook'>Affiliate Tips from Facebook</a></li>
</ol>]]></description>
			<content:encoded><![CDATA[<p>While I was wandering around the Meet Market at Affiliate Summit I ran into the Sam, Shawn, Nikki and Amy from <a href="http://rileypool.com/affs/optimalwebworks" style="" target="_blank"  onmouseover="self.status='http://rileypool.com/affs/optimalwebworks';return true;" onmouseout="self.status=''">Optimal Web Works</a>.  We&#8217;ve been discussing ideas about how we tackle Facebook Ads for the past year now and decided it was best to talk to Facebook as a group.  Needless to say we grilled Ben from Facebook for close to an hour and got some excellent information from him.  There are many tools in beta right now that will be released to the public, hopefully sooner rather than later.  I mentioned a few of these ideas in my <a href="http://rileypool.com/affiliate-marketing/affiliate-summit-west-2010/" target="_self">Affiliate Summit West 2010</a> post.  I must say that Ben was great for letting us question him for so long.</p>
<p>Once we were done, I decided it would be best if I picked up a few coupons for people that are new to Facebook.  I&#8217;ve listed the coupons below.  I&#8217;m assuming these are for new accounts only.  The coupons expire March 31, 2010.</p>
<ul>
<li>W7R4-V6NX-86M8-JWTE</li>
<li>7843-RM0F-1NNC-4857</li>
<li>T6P4-41N7-9Y3N-08NX</li>
<li>E967-135H-MMWW-N9YN</li>
</ul>


<p>Related posts:<ol><li><a href='http://rileypool.com/ppc/free-250-facebook-advertising/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Free $250 Facebook Advertising!'>Free $250 Facebook Advertising!</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/ppc/advertising-on-facebook/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Advertising on Facebook'>Advertising on Facebook</a></li>
<li><a href='http://rileypool.com/facebook/affiliate-tips-from-facebook/' rel='bookmark' title='Permanent Link: Affiliate Tips from Facebook'>Affiliate Tips from Facebook</a></li>
</ol></p>]]></content:encoded>
			<wfw:commentRss>http://rileypool.com/ppc/giving-away-200-in-facebook-coupons/feed/</wfw:commentRss>
		<slash:comments>2</slash:comments>
		</item>
	</channel>
</rss>
